Mapping in R - Resource List

I’ve got to do some maps for a manuscript, so I’ve been working through different options for mapping in R. Here are some resources I’ve found useful, feel free to add in the comments.  Thanks to those of you who have helped with my questions (that means you, Andy)

Overviews

 

package maptools

 

package rworldmap

 

package sp

 

Other Useful Resources

Global Administrative Areas: Downloads of Shape Files, R SpatialPolygonsDataframes, etc.

Some Q&A pages of people trying to map using GAAD files [link1]

Professor & Distinguished Teaching Scholar

My research & teaching interests include Tropical ecology and conservation, plant population ecology, plant-animal interactions, scientometrics and bibliometrics, science & science policy in Latin America matter.

Related